Wednesday, October 2, 2013

Frankenstein Theory



In a word: Forgettable
----May contain spoilers---

Plain and simple, this movie is easily forgotten.

Now, don't take that the wrong way. I have seen many horror films in my day and FT is not the worst in the bunch, far from it. It is a fairly decent way to spend an afternoon. But, there is nothing memorable about it. Heck, even after watching it... I couldn't think of a single "scare" moment worth mentioning in a review. It is simply a click and forget film.

Amazon's rundown is basically all you need to know: A professor, looking to redeem himself, takes a few young folks interested in filming, out to Alaska to investigate the theory that Frankenstein was a factual event. Now, depending on how you want to look at the majority of the film, it is either "slow and drawn out" or "suspenseful and engaging". Either way, the film eventually finds its way to the last 20 odd minutes, in which off-scene kills and sound effects happen. If you have watched many "found footage"...

DVD Review: "The Frankenstein Theory"
When I saw the promotional material for "The Frankenstein Theory," I admit rolling my eyes and thinking the movie sounded ridiculous. I couldn't help but have low expectations going into it with cover art exclaiming, "From the creators of 'The Last Exorcism.'" Whenever a movie carries a bi-line like that to promote it, you can bet it's going to be a disappointment. This indie found "footage" film is the perfect example of a concept that shouldn't work but did.

Desperately driven to prove himself to the world, Professor John Venkenheim leads a documentary film crew to the edge of the Arctic Circle. He intends to expose to the world his inconceivable theory. He believes that Mary Shelley's "Frankenstein" is a work of non-fiction disguised as fantasy and that the creature is alive and well. As they travel deeper into the desolate snow-covered plains, strange events and happenings unfold around them. Is someone or something stalking them? If so, is it human or is it the...

One More Theory
I was actually pretty surprised to find this already available on Netflix so I thought it sounded interesting. When it first started I will say that I was very tempted to turn it off. It looked very cheaply done and the acting was pretty awful. I decided to stick with it and after awhile it started to pick up a bit. But after an hour or so I still saw no monster other than just a glimpse of a shawdow running into the woods. Alot of the movie is predicatable and maybe a scare here and there but thats just from the growling in the darkness effect. I see a movie with a good possibility but just seemed to fail at the end leaving you wanting more.

Click to Editorial Reviews

No comments:

Post a Comment